linemantoolbox
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Near Misses!

3 posters

Go down

Near Misses! Empty Near Misses!

Post  MI-Lineman Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:41 pm

When I was a contractor the first thing every Monday brought up in the safety meeting was near misses! Without hesitation one of the guys after the shop steward asked if there were any would pipe up and give theirs! I had a few! No one got ridiculed (unless you were an ape and did somethin like drop an outrigger pad on your foot or somethin? violent ) and guys would discuss how it could be done safer! Here at the co. you'll get disciplined passably because of what ya did! To me this is part of the reason we see more and more accidents cuz some of us wanna be the greatest Lineman ever and are to embarrassed to admit wrong doing! It's time to buck up and admit we're all human and admit some brain farts so the rest of the trade can learn form them!

Here's one that wasn't a close call but was more of a dumb way to do somethin....I had to change three 200 amp bypasses once at an OCR location! This location was obviously added to this 40' stick after the pole was ever thought of judgin by the fact the doors damn near reached the top of the OCRS! It was tight to say the least! Anyway I turned down help to change'em and y phase was tight as x phase OCR leads were about a foot below the load side y phase jumper! Instead of wastin time doing it a safer I had thought of, I managed to save time by growin a third arm Rolling Eyes and get it done but before the bucket was cradled I was already kickin my self for doin it the "faster" way! Could've had a big issue with just one wrong movement rubber or not but I didn't luckily! Doesn't mean I should do it that way again either just cuz it worked this time! The point of this is my help made a good point of at least there wasn't an apprentice on the crew to see it!